Relocation: Teams make jump in new alignment

   INDIANAPOLIS — When the cold temperatures start to set in and fall sports are back in 2011, the postseason will have a drastically different look for much of Whitley County’s local high school teams.
   Wednesday, the Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) released a new two-year sectional alignments for all of the class sports.
   “All three realignment committees were extremely well-prepared and provided valuable input throughout each meeting,” IHSAA Commissioner Bobby Cox said. “The conscientious attitudes of the committee  members were clearly evident in their deliberations.
   “The locations of schools and their proximity to other schools were given the greatest consideration when forming sectional groupings. Secondly, a deliberate effort was made to eliminate five and seven team sectionals where possible. I feel that each group developed an alignment which will serve the membership appropriately and create excitement and interest among our patrons.”
   The reclassification completed in February had all three county schools make a jump. Each school now stays in one class for all athletics.
   Columbia City had the rest of its athletics join its football program in class 4A.
   Coming off a class 3A semistate appearance in boys’ basketball, Columbia City moves up to join a new 4A seven-team sectional including Fort Wayne Carroll, North Side, Snider, Northrop, DeKalb, East Noble.
   The same sectional alignment used for basketball is also applied to baseball, softball and volleyball.
   Whitko basketball remains in class 3A where it too leaves for a new sectional. The Wildcats join Bellmont,  Eastbrook, Heritage, Mississinewa and Norwell for the four major class sports.
   The Wildcat basketball programs leave a sectional they once shared with Columbia City.
   Fairfield moved in to replace the two county teams in a class 3A sectional that stays the same with Lakeland, NorthWood, Tippecanoe Valley, West Noble and Wawasee.
   Churubusco’s shot at its first sectional championship in either boys or girls basketball moved to a tough class 2A sectional.
   Fort Wayne Bishop Luers headlines a six-team sectional that also includes Adams Central, Bluffton,  Eastside and South Adams.
   The ’Busco football program will also face off against the Knights in the postseason after a jump up their class A semistate appearance.
   Luers enters the 2011 season as two-time defending state champion winning three state titles in four seasons.
   Joining Churubusco and Bishop Luers in the sectional are Bluffton, Eastside, Elwood, Madison-Grant, Oak Hill and Woodlan.
   Columbia City and Whitko had its sectional opponents change, for the most part.
   The team that has ended Columbia City football’s season for five consecutive years joins the Eagles in a new class 4A sectional.
   Along with Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Columbia City moved to a sectional including Jay County, Leo, Logansport, Marion, New Haven and Norwell.
   Wildcat football jumps to a new sectional. Whitko joins Fort Wayne Concordia, Garrett, Jimtown, Heritage, Lakeland, Tippecanoe Valley, and West Noble in class 3A.