This Day in Sports History May 15

Staff Writer

1862 First baseball enclosure opens at Union Grounds, Brooklyn
1876 2nd Kentucky Derby: Bobby Swim aboard Vagrant wins in 2:38.25
1894 20th Kentucky Derby: Frank Goodale aboard Chant wins in 2:41
1906 NY Giants' Hooks Wiltse strikes out 4 batters in 1 inning
1912 37th Preakness: Clarnence Turner on Colonel Holloway wins in 1:56.6
1912 Ty Cobb rushes a heckler at a NY Highlander game & is suspended
1918 43rd Preakness: Johnny Loftus aboard War Cloud wins in 1:53.6
1918 Washington Senator Walter Johnson pitches 1-0, 18 inning game
1919 Brooklyn Dodgers score 10 runs in 13th to beat Reds 10-0
1920 Soccer team ADO '20 forms in Heemskerk
1926 52nd Kentucky Derby: Albert Johnson on Bubbling Over wins in 2:03.8
1935 Pirates beat Phillies 20-5
1937 62nd Preakness: Charley Kurtsinger aboard War Admiral wins in 1:58.4
1941 Joe DiMaggio starts 56-game hitting streak; Yanks lose 13-1
1944 Cincinnati Red Clyde Shoun no-hits Boston Braves, 1-0
1948 73rd Preakness: Eddie Arcaro wins aboard Citation, 2nd leg of successful Triple Crown
1952 Johnny Longden becomes 2nd jockey to ride 4,000 winners
1953 In his first world heavyweight title defence, Rocky Marciano KOs former champion Jersey Joe Walcott in the 1st round at Chicago Stadium
1959 100th anniversary of 1st college baseball game, between Amherst & Williams Teams reenact the original contest
1965 90th Preakness: Ron Turcotte aboard Tom Rolfe wins in 1:56.2
1966 1st day of Sunday play in County Cricket, Essex v Somerset
1970 International Olympic Committee votes to expel South Africa
1971 96th Preakness: Gustavo Avila aboard Canonero II wins in 1:54
1973 California Angel Nolan Ryan's 1st no-hitter beats KC Royals, 3-0
1976 101st Preakness: John Lively aboard Elocutionist wins in 1:55
1980 Flyers score 8 goals against Islanders in playoffs
1981 "Harlem Globetrotters on Gilligan's Island" airs
1982 107th Preakness: Jack Kaenel aboard Aloma's Ruler wins in 1:55.4
1989 Blue Jays fire manager Jimy Williams & replace him with Cito Gaston
1989 US Basketball League cancels its summer schedule
1990 Edmonton Oiler Klima beats Boston Bruins in 6th period
1991 US President George H. W. Bush takes Queen Elizabeth to Oakland A's-Baltimore Oriole game
1991 Red Sox & White Sox play then slowest 9 inning game (4:11)
1993 118th Preakness: Mike Smith aboard Prairie Bayou wins in 1:56.6
1994 LPGA Championship Women's Golf, DuPont CC: Laura Davies of England wins her second major title, 3 strokes ahead of runner-up Alice Ritzman
1999 124th Preakness: Chris Antley wins aboard Charismatic for the second leg of an unsuccessful Triple Crown campaign
2002 10th UEFA Champions League Final: Real Madrid beats Bayer Leverkusen 2-1 at Glasgow
2004 129th Preakness: Stewart Elliott aboard Smarty Jones wins in 1:55.59
2010 Jessica Watson at age 16 becomes the youngest person to sail solo, non-stop and unassisted around the world
2010 135th Preakness: Martin Garcia aboard Lookin At Lucky wins in 1:55.47
2011 PGA Players Championship, TPC at Sawgrass: K. J. Choi of South Korea defeats David Toms on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff to win $1.71 million winner's cheque
2016 PGA Players Championship, TPC at Sawgrass: World #1 and reigning PGA Champion Jason Day of Australia leads wire-to-wire to win by 4 strokes ahead of Kevin Chappell